Oshkosh Winners Announced, Paul Dye’s SubSonex Awarded


The EAA’s list of show winners is almost as long as the show and just as varied. More than 70 aircraft received awards across several categories, but all of them are about the quality of construction. Paul Dye, editor at large of AVweb’s sister publication KITPLANES, took home a plaque for outstanding workmanship in his new SubSonex single-seat jet.

EAA awards in six categories—homebuilts, warbirds, vintage, ultralights, seaplanes and rotorcraft. “Entrants can only be considered for one category in a given year, and are not eligible for the same or any lower-tier awards if they have won in the past. Looks are considered in award judging, but the quality of craftsmanship inherent in the aircraft is a crucial factor as well. Careful construction and/or restoration, as well as tireless maintenance, is essential in winning a Lindy.”

Here are a few of the highlights:

Grand Champion Kitbuilt, Gold Lindy: John Garred for his 2016 Pitts 12. Reserve Grand Champion Kitbuilt, Silver Lindy: John Janovetz for his 2017 Team Rocket F1 Evo. Grand Champion Plansbuilt, Gold Lindy: Allen Floyd for his 2006 Long-EZ. Reserve Grand Champion Plansbuilt, Silver Lindy: Georges Valtz for his 2019 Pitts Model 12.

See the entire list here.

Avatar photo
KITPLANES Editor in Chief Marc Cook has been in aviation journalism for more than 30 years. He is a 4000-hour instrument-rated, multi-engine pilot with experience in nearly 150 types. He’s completed two kit aircraft, an Aero Designs Pulsar XP and a Glasair Sportsman 2+2, and currently flies a 2002 GlaStar.

Other AVwebflash Articles