Nominees Sought For Aviation Awards

  • E-Mail this Article
  • View Printable Article
  • Text size:

    • A
    • A
    • A

The nomination periods are now open for two prestigious aviation awards, the Katherine Wright Trophy and the FAI Awards, the National Aeronautic Association said this week. The Wright trophy, established in 1981 by the Gates Learjet Corp., is awarded annually "to an individual who has contributed to the success of others, or made a personal contribution to the advancement of the art, sport, and science of aviation and space flight over an extended period of time." The FAI Awards, bestowed annually by the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale since 1905, recognize international accomplishments in aviation and space.

NAA helps to find nominees for these FAI awards: Gold Air Medal, Gold Space Medal, Sabiha Gökçen Medal, Silver Medal, Diploma for Outstanding Airmanship, Paul Tissandier Diploma and the Honorary Group Diploma. The Katherine Wright Trophy is named in honor of the sister of Orville and Wilbur Wright, who supported their work both financially and emotionally. Last year’s winner was Major Chrystina Jones, a U.S. Air Force pilot, honored for “her commitment to encouraging women across the globe to pursue and succeed in aviation careers.” The nomination deadline for the Wright trophy is March 31, and for the FAI Awards, nominations are due by April 30. Questions about the awards or the nomination process can be addressed to Stephanie Berry at NAA, at 703-416-4888, Ext. 104, or via email.

Add your comments

Log In

You must be logged in to comment

Forgot password?


Enter your information below to begin your FREE registration