Hall Of Fame To Honor Four Aviators


NASA image/Skylab 2

The National Aviation Hall of Fame will induct four new members Sept. 28, at its 56th annual ceremony, in Washington, D.C., organizers have announced. This year’s enshrinees are Col. Walter Cunningham, who flew the Apollo 7 lunar module and served as chief of Skylab; Gen. John Dailey, former director of the National Air and Space Museum; William Dana, who served as project pilot for the X-15; and Gen. Ronald Fogleman, who served in the U.S. Air Force and wrote the Air Force Core Values.The four will be honored with a ceremony and dinner to take place at the National Building Museum. The event is open to the public, and seats are available at the NAHF website, starting at $400.

The enshrinement ceremony will be hosted by David Hartman, former host of ABC’s “Good Morning America,” and nearly 1,000 people are expected to attend. Among those in the audience will be former enshrinees, including astronauts Eileen Collins and Hoot Gibson, general aviation leaders Dale Klapmeier, of Cirrus, and Tom Poberezny, of EAA, as well as former Tuskegee Airmen and other ace pilots from World War II, according to the NAHF.