Nominations Underway For Collier Trophy


The deadline to submit nominations for this year’s Robert J. Collier trophy is coming up January 31, the National Aeronautic Association announced this week. The prestigious award is given annually to recognize “the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.” The list of Collier winners represents a timeline of aviation, as many of the awards mark major events in the history of flight. The trophy has gone to Glenn Curtis, Orville Wright, Howard Hughes, astronauts, military leaders, Sikorsky, Boeing and many others.

Details for how to submit a nomination are posted at the NAA website. A selection will be made by an NAA committee on March 22, and the winner will be announced shortly after. The trophy will be presented at a formal dinner on June 14, in the Washington, D.C., area. Last year, the trophy was awarded to Blue Origin Blue Shepard, for demonstrating rocket booster reusability with the New Shepard human spaceflight vehicle.