Red Bull Air Races Back For 2014


The Red Bull Air Races, which were placed on hiatus after the 2011 season, will return in 2014, Red Bull announced on Tuesday. Seven races will be held in six countries on three continents, starting Feb. 28, in Abu Dhabi. During the three-year break, changes were made to enhance safety and improve the overall race experience, the organization said. Pilots now will compete with standard engines and propellers, and the rules have been modified to prevent any pilots from exceeding the set limits. The inflatable pylons will be constructed from new material that makes it easier for them to burst apart if they are clipped by an airplane, and the heights will be raised from 65 feet to about 82 feet. The tour will include two races in the U.S., Dallas/Fort Worth in September, and Las Vegas in October.

Other stops will include Malaysia, Poland, the UK, and China. The pilot field will include three former title-winners, Paul Bonhomme of Britain, Hannes Arch of Austria, and American Kirby Chambliss. Also competing are Nigel Lamb (UK), Matt Hall (Australia), Peter Besenyei (Hungary), Nicolas Ivanoff (France), Michael Goulian (USA), Matthias Dolderer (Germany), Yoshi Muroya (Japan), Pete McLeod (Canada) and Martin Sonka (Czech Republic).