AEA Educational Foundation Awards Scholarships


During the 57th annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show, the Aircraft Electronics Association’s Educational Foundation announced the names of 22 individuals who were awarded individual scholarships worth more than $125,000 for the 2014-15 academic year. The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The AEA scholarships and the individuals who were awarded include:

  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Jacob Freeman, Tuttle, Okla.
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Cole Andrews, Ramona, Calif.
  • Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College: Kacie Broemmelsick, Northglenn, Colo.
  • Aircell Scholarship: Paul Xavier, Carbondale, Ill.
  • L-3 Aviation Products: Cody Wright, Ridgeway, Va.
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Justin Barnes, Cynthiana, Ky.
  • Garmin Scholarship: Joshua Hundley, Rochester, Ill.
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Brian Champion, Marsh Lake, Yukon Territory, Canada.
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Josue Rodriguez, Duluth, Ga.
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Brittney Frizzell, Dearborn, Mich.
  • Rockwell Collins Scholarship: Maxwell Gale, Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Garmin – Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Dominic Valenti, Council Bluffs, Iowa.
  • Universal Avionics Systems Corp. Scholarship: William Hernandez, Kissimmee, Fla.
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Alex Hamberger, York, Penn.
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Colton Phillips, Wichita, Kan.
  • Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Nathan Croak, Ypsilanti, Mich.
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Johnson, Lakeland, Fla.
  • Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship: Jonathan James, Duncanville, Texas.
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Sara Fox, Erie, Penn.
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Juan Miguel Sanchez, Milton, Ontario, Canada.
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Danny Sanburn, Wichita, Kan.
  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: David Sprouse, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Monte Mitchell Memorial Scholarship: Keith Hendershot, Hyannis, Mass.

The foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs. Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships.