NAHF Opens Call For Entries For Crossfield Award


The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is seeking entries for the 29th Annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year Award, which includes a $5,000 cash stipend to the recipient. Founded by famed research test pilot Scott Crossfield in 1986, the award is a juried competition open to current classroom teachers in grades K through 12. Nominations will be examined by a review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals for documentation of a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves, with aerospace being the core subject matter or their curricula.

The Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year recipient will receive their award on-stage at the NAHF 53rd Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony on Friday, October 2, 2015. The winning teacher and a guest receive an all-expense paid trip to Dayton, Ohio, to receive the award as part of the black-tie ceremony. Widely known as the “Oscar Night of Aviation”, the gala is held in the NAHF Learning Center and the adjacent National Museum of the United States Air Force. A capacity crowd of 650 guests is expected to attend.

The 2014 Crossfield Educator of the Year Award recipient was Rachael Manzer, the STEM Coach at the Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School in East Harford, Connecticut. Ms. Manzer teaches and models inquiry-based science lessons for K-12 classrooms and is a “Teacher in Space” Pathfinder Astronaut Candidate, one of seven teachers selected from across the nation to fly on a suborbital space flight under NASA’s Network of Educator Astronaut Teachers program.

A. Scott Crossfield (1921-2006) was inducted into the NAHF in 1983 in recognition of his contributions as a naval aviator, aerospace engineer and test pilot. He was the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3; the first to fly the X-15; and he contributed to the safety of manned spaceflight, among many other achievements.

The deadline for nominations is June 30, 2015. The winner must be able to attend the NAHF Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony on Friday, October 2, 2015. For award criteria, downloadable application forms, and more information please visit