Nominations Open For NATA Excellence Awards


The National Air Transportation Association (NATA) announces a call for nominations to acknowledge the individuals, offices, and organizations demonstrating excellence in their field and the highest level of customer service to the general aviation community.

Each year, NATA presents awards to the exceptional individuals and companies that have helped to improve the general aviation community. The recipients of five of these awards are chosen based upon NATA member-submitted nominations.

These awards cover five categories:

The Airport Executive Partnership Award recognizes an airport manager for outstanding efforts to nurture the relationships between aviation businesses and airport operators. The ATP/NATA General Aviation Service Technician Award acknowledges the exceptional performance of a licensed airframe and power plant mechanic or radio repairman who has practiced his or her craft for a period of 20 or more years.

The Excellence In Pilot Training Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions in safety, professionalism, leadership, and excellence in the field of pilot training.

The FAA Customer Service Excellence Award recognizes a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) facility or facility staff member who represents the highest degree of customer service and elevates the quality of interaction between the FAA and aircraft maintenance and repair facilities, Part 135 certificate holders, airport service organizations, and flight schools.

The Safety 1st Certified Line Service Professional Award recognizes an individual for the positive impact he or she had on safety, service and business success.

The 2014 NATA industry excellence awards winners were:

Airport Executive Partnership Award – Jess Romo, airport manager, Van Nuys Airport and LA/Ontario International

ATP/NATA General Aviation Service Technician Award – James (Tony) Gay, engine service manager, StandardAero

Excellence In Pilot Training Award – Eric Walter, chief pilot, primary trainer, and check airman, Bemidji Aviation Services

Safety 1st Certified Line Service Professional Award – Jeremy Van Dyke, Line Services Manager, Truman Arnold Companies (TAC Air)

Nominations for these five awards must be received by NATA no later than January 29, 2016. Members may also obtain a nomination form by calling the NATA headquarters at 800-808-6282 or by e-mailing Karissa Uko.

The awards will be presented at the NATA Industry Excellence Awards Lunch held during NATA’s Aviation Business Conference in June 2016.