Press Releases Home

Press Release

"Tipping the FATAL Helicopter IIMC Accident Rate Back Towards Survival"

Helicopter Online Ground School will be hosting a free webinar titled "Tipping the FATAL Helicopter IIMC Accident Rate Back Towards Survival" on Saturday, December 8, 2018, starting at 14:00 Eastern Standard Time (11:00 PST, 12:00 MST, 13:00 CST, 09:00 HST, 10:00 AKST, 12:00 Arizona, 19:00 GMT).

Visual flight rules (VFR) flights that inadvertently or intentionally enter into instrument meteorological conditions (IMC) continue to be a significant safety hazard to general aviation (GA) flights. Although loss of control (LOC) and controlled flight into terrain (CFIT) accidents by VFR pilots in IMC typically account only for a proportion of the total number of GA accidents, such occurrences account for 75% of weather related GA fatalities.

NTSB statistics show that helicopter pilots who fly VFR into IMC conditions only have a 14% chance of surviving the event. This webinar is designed to help helicopter pilots tip this 86% fatal accident rate back in their favor.

Two very knowledgeable aviators tag team a sensitive topic that has plagued the industry as one of the leading causes of loss of control accidents. Rex Alexander and Lewis Vondy have 81 years of combined aviation experience and have teamed up with the Helicopter Online Ground School team for this important event.

Lewis Vondy is a 39 year aviator, currently employed with Air Methods Corporation, one of the largest helicopter emergency medical services. He is a Lead Check Airman in the AS365, Lead Instructor in Single Pilot IFR (SPIFR), and a Check Airman in the EC135. Prior U.S. Army helicopter pilot.

Rex Alexander is 40 year aviator, President of Five Alpha LLC., many years of experience in the commercial helicopter industry, helicopter emergency medical services, and prior U.S. Army helicopter pilot.

Helicopter Online Ground School brings you this live webinar for free! This very important topic can be a life saver.

To register for this free webinar, sign up at https://www.helicopterground.com/pl/52153.