New This Week


AVweb‘s search of aviation news worldwide found announcements from the National Aviation Hall of Fame, National Air Transportation Foundation, Organization of Black Aerospace Professionals, and the Sapphire Pegasus Awards. The National Aviation Hall of Fame is seeking entries for the 30th annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award, which includes a $5,000 cash stipend.The National Air Transportation Foundation announced the winners of the Dan L. Meisinger Sr. Memorial Learn to Fly Scholarship and Pioneers of Flight Scholarship: Matthew Bettmeng, a student at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in Prescott, Arizona; Brett Bentley, a student at Westminster College in Salt Lake City, Utah; and Johnathon Hagen, a student at Kansas State University in Salina, Kansas.

The Organization of Black Aerospace Professionals announced the receipt of a $30,000 grant from The UPS Foundation, which drives global corporate citizenship and philanthropic programs for UPS. The grant will be allocated to award five scholarships to offset costs for college tuition within an aviation-related program or to further training for aspiring aviation professionals. The Sapphire Pegasus Awards for international business aviation were presented April 8 in Prague. The 13 award categories include business aviation operators, aircraft brokers, charitable projects and maintenance operators.