Scholarships Awarded to Women in Transportation Studies


WTS International, the association for the professional advancement of women in transportation, has announced the selection of the winners of its seven scholarships for 2014. Each of the winners will be recognized at an awards banquet on May 15 during the 2014 WTS Annual Conference in Portland, Ore. The scholarship winners are:

  • Janille Smith-Colin, P.E., Georgia – CH2M HILL Partnership Scholarship
  • Stacey Heaton, Ohio – Dana Hook Leadership Legacy Scholarship
  • Brittany Montgomery, Massachusetts – Helene Overly Graduate Scholarship
  • Angelene Dascanio, Illinois – Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Sarah Cote, Massachusetts – Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Annie Rosen, California – WTS Junior College Scholarship
  • Katy Schmidt, Oregon – WTS Transportation YOU High School Scholarship

WTS is very proud of each our seven national scholarship winners. These women-as well as the hundreds who have won scholarships awarded by their local WTS chapters and the hundreds more who applied-have exhibited incredible dedication to preparing themselves to enter the transportation industry. WTS Foundation was established to foster the development of the worlds workforce, and, as evidenced by the paths of our past scholarship winners, our scholarship program has been extremely successful, said Marcia Ferranto, WTS president and CEO.