LSA Amphib Rules "Repositioned"

  • E-Mail this Article
  • View Printable Article
  • Text size:

    • A
    • A
    • A

The Light Sport Aircraft category just got a whole lot more realistic for amphibious airplanes and their pilots. But there's still a nonsensical ring to the FAA's decision to modify a bizarre clause in the regulations that previously only allowed amphib gear to be "repositioned" while the plane was on the ground. Well, even the FAA could see the folly of such reasoning and pilots will now be able to "reposition" the gear in flight, LSA advocate Dan Johnson told reporters at AOPA Expo in Tampa. However, the rules stipulate that the gear may only be moved once (lest the gear becomes "retractable"). Just how the FAA intends to ensure that amphib owners don't try to squeeze an extra knot or two out of their planes by "repositioning" the gear after takeoff and then again for touching down on land is a mystery that also doesn't address things like great diversion flexibility of such aircraft. It would appear, however, that amphib owners are happy to let this particular sleeping dog lie...